Composed by Andrew Boysen Jr.


Dedicated to those who lost their lives on September 11, 2001. The five movements, Introit, Kyrie, Dies Irae, Sanctus and Angus Dei, outline the general form of a Requiem Mass. Boysen transforms the first seven notes of the somber Gregorian Chant melody, the "Dies Irae," throughout the piece. The chant makes a full and frightening appearance at the end of the third movement, only to be disguised in the fourth movement by the enchanted sounds of the mallet percussion. Grant Them Eternal Rest is a monumental addisiton to the canon of wind literature.


  • Edition Number: WB314
  • Publication Date: 2006
  • UPC: 8402701077
  • Media Type: Music Books
  • Repertoire: Full Band
  • Level/Grade: 4.5
Sample Pages

Hear Sample